Mutya ng Pilipinas : History


Mutya ng Pilipinas logo

Mutya ng Pilipinas (literally Pearl of the Philippines or Muse of the Philippines) is an annual national beauty pageant in thePhilippines.

The Mutya ng Pilipinas beauty pageant has produced four Miss Asia Pacific titles: Maria del Carmen Ines Zaragoza in 1982, Gloria Dimayacyac in 1983, Lorna Legaspi in 1989, and Michelle Aldana in 1993.

Three Miss Tourism International titles: Maria Esperanza Corazon Manzano (2000-2001), Rizzini Alexis Gomez (2012-2013), andAngeli Dione Gomez (2013-2014).

Three Miss Tourism Queen of the Year International titles: Sherylle Lynne Santarin (1996), Racquel Uy (1999), and Leren Mae Bautista (2015).

One Beauty of the World title: April Love Jordan in 2009.

From 1977-1991 Mutya ng Pilipinas Asia and Mutya ng Pilipinas World competed in 2 international beauty pageants such as Miss Asia Pacific International and Miss World.

 The runners-up compete in Miss Wonderland International, Miss Tourism International, Miss Intercontinental, Queen of Clubs International, Queen of the Year and Miss Expo International.

One of the titles of Mutya ng Pilipinas, which was first named Mutya ng Pilipinas Asia has undergone name changes starting from 1965 until 1983 for the Miss Asia Quest. Then it was renamed Mutya ng Pilipinas Asia Pacific for Miss Asia Pacific Quest from 1984 until 2004. In 2005, the title was renamed once again to Mutya ng Pilipinas Asia Pacific International for Miss Asia Pacific International Quest. Then in 2006, the Miss Asia Pacific International pageant was completely & officially scrapped with the national titlist nowhere to compete internationally and was retained for 3 years. The winner in 2006 was sent to Miss Intercontinental and in 2007 to Miss Tourism Metropolitan International.

The Mutya organizers finally changed the title to Mutya ng Pilipinas International in 2008 as the top winner and the second winner as Mutya ng Pilipinas Tourism. In 2010, the top prize received the title of Mutya ng Pilipinas Tourism International and the co-winners with the titles of Mutya ng Pilipinas Intercontinental & Asia Pacific International.

In 2014, Miss Intercontinental Philippines delegates are no longer selected by Mutya ng Pilipinas Organization.

As of 2015, the primary winners of the pageant namely Mutya ng Pilipinas Asia Pacific International, Mutya ng Pilipinas Top Model of the World, Mutya ng Pilipinas Tourism and Mutya ng Pilipinas Tourism Planet were selected as representatives to Miss Asia Pacific International, Top Model of the World, Miss Tourism International, Miss Tourism Planet. Completing the winners circle includes the 1st and 2nd runners-up and a special title, the Mutya ng Pilipinas Overseas Communities respectively.