The 65th annual MISS UNIVERSE® Competition : best fitness tips with us that you can use to inspire your fitness routines for 2017.


Photo by Ivan Dumont

 

Miss Universe contestants from around the world shared their best fitness tips with us that you can use to inspire your fitness routines for 2017. Check out how their advice on how to get and stay in shape in the New Year below!

Stay hydrated. 

In my opinion, hydration is something that is often times overlooked. It is exceedingly important that one is getting sufficient water throughout the day and whilst exercising. When I’m dehydrated, I find that I cannot perform at my highest peak, I experience fatigue, dizziness and muscle cramps, especially at my calves,” said Miss Universe Malaysia 2016 Kiran Jassal. “I sometimes drink lemon infused water for a refreshing feel.”

Miss Universe Chile 2016 Catalina Paz Cáceres, Miss Universe Netherlands 2016 Zoey Ivory, Miss Universe Nigeria 2016 Unoaku Anyadike, Miss Universe Philippines 2016 Maxine Medinae, Miss Universe Spain 2016 Noelia Freire, Miss Universe Kenya 2016 Mary Esther Were and Miss Universe Barbados 2016 Shannon Harris all agree that drinking a lot of water, especially while working out, is a major key to staying in shape. Miss Universe Germany 2016 Johanna Acs even shared that she drinks around five liters of water a day.

“Drink water in the morning before breakfast,” said Miss Universe Paraguay 2016 Andrea Melgarejo.

Make a workout playlist!

“Listen to upbeat songs when you workout,” said Miss Universe Singapore 2016 Cheryl Chou. “I find that I am more pumped up and energetic when I do.”

Miss Universe Belize 2016 Rebecca Rath agrees, saying, “Have a workout playlist. Songs that are upbeat and make you want to dance. This allows you to get in a more intense workout.”

“If you listen to the music that you like you will be motivated during all your training,” according to Miss Universe Venezuela 2016 Mariam Habach.

Keep it fun!

Miss Universe Canada 2016 Siera Bearchell believes you should, “Find what you love to do.  Fitness should not be a chore, but rather something we love to do that makes us feel good from the inside out.  A healthy body leads to a healthy mind.  Whether it’s yoga, running, or lifting weights (or all of the above), find what you enjoy.”

Finding a fitness buddy is also a great way to keep your workouts fun and help you stay motivated!

“Practice with someone you love and have fun with, it makes it easier to persist,” shared Miss Universe Israel 2016 Yam Kaspers Anshel.

“Enjoy it! Make it a pleasure and something that you look forward to rather than a chore,” said Miss Universe Great Britain 2016 Jaime-Lee Faulkner. “I find that training with friends helps me as I look forward to socializing with them and we also motivate each other, too.”

Stay consistent.

“Consistency is key! For me, it is important to focus on maintaining a balanced and healthy lifestyle every day of the week. My goal is to cherish and love the body I am in, not shock it or starve it. I do not do well with crash diets and I truly believe that system is not a sustainable alternative for living a fit life. I focus on making healthy decisions a daily routine,” said Miss Universe US Virgin Islands 2016 Carolyn Carter. “Portion control, selecting healthy options at every meal, and staying active throughout the day are a few ways that I try to stay consistently fit and health.”

Miss Universe Albania 2016 Lindita Idrizi agreed that “consistency” is key to achieving your fitness goals. Miss Universe Belgium 2016 Stephanie Geldhof also said, “You need to keep going and never give up to get to your goal. That’s very important. You will not see results after one of two trainings. It’s a lot of effort and time, but it’s really worth it.”

In addition to staying consistent in the gym, it’s also important to stick to a consistent diet in order to achieve your fitness goals.

“Do not skip meals; eating less is not the way. When you skip a meal, your metabolism is slow, because without food your body will go into starvation mode, you can even get sick, you could run low on nutrients,” shared Miss Universe Ecuador Connie Jiménez. “Organize your meals; be responsible with your body.”

Miss Universe Costa Rica 2016 Carolina Duran, Miss Universe Bolivia Antonella Moscatelli, and Miss Universe Guyana 2016 Soyini Fraser agree that it’s important to have a healthy, balanced diet.

[It’s important to have] a balanced diet that entails the consumption of raw vegetables, avoiding sweets and sugar and drinking a lots water and avoiding sodas, and of course being consistent in the gym,” said Miss Universe Jamaica 2016 Isabel Dalley.

Try a new workout!

“I try to add new things in my workouts, so I don’t get bored,” said Miss Universe Kosovo Camila Barraza.

Miss Universe contestants shared some of their favorite workouts with us that you could definitely try if you’re looking to switch-up your fitness routine in 2017, including boxing, yoga and swimming!

“I love attending box-fit classes or personal training sessions where I know that I am going to be pushed to my limits,” said Miss Universe Australia 2016 Caris Tiivel.

Miss Universe Dominican Republic 2016 Rosalba Abreu likes does yoga and Miss Universe India 2016 Roshmitha Harimurthy enjoys swimming to stay in shape.

Miss Universe Bulgaria 2016 Violina Ancheva also told us about the Bulgarian bag, saying, “The Bulgarian bag is a fitness tool that weights about 8 kg. It is used mostly to shape the waist. I use ‘Bulgarian bag’ a lot in my fitness program and I think it is very effective.”

Leave a Reply

